readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

The Technologists – Matthew Pearl ***

Leave a comment

The Technologists
The Technologists by Matthew Pearl
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been intrigued by Matthew Pearl for a while – I actually own both ‘The Dante Club’ and ‘The Poe Shadow’ and have been planning on reading them – but I got an ARC of his latest, so it went to the top of the list. Well, eh, I might have been a little overexcited.
This wasn’t a bad book, but it wasn’t really what I expected. I’d read things comparing it to ‘The Alienist’ so I was expecting a serious, realistic thriller set in the 19th century. It wasn’t. Although the author did his research on the early days of MIT (this book’s setting), I didn’t find his depiction of the school convincing. (The afterword, where he talks about the facts behind the story, was actually the most interesting part, for me.) I found the characters rather cartoonish. The alternate history/steampunk aspects of the story were very far-fetched, again, reminding me almost of a comic book in prose form. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I didn’t find myself getting really into it. Although it was a mystery, I didn’t find myself compulsively turning pages, either. I’m still planning on reading the other books by this author, though, especially as they all seem to have interesting topics.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

