readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Fragile Things – Short Fictions and Wonders – Neil Gaiman ****

Leave a comment

I feel like Neil Gaiman is one of those authors where most people either love him or hate him… but I only like him very, very much.
Does that make any sense? Probably not.

Anyway, there are some amazing stories here. There are also some that I could do without, like the short bits written for a Tori Amos album’s liner notes. I could do without Tori Amos, too, but that’s just me. I just don’t agree with Neil on everything. I feel like there are a lot of people out there who do, though.

I have to say, though, I got the warmest, fuzziest feeling when I read his introduction to “How to Talk to Girls at Parties” and he mentioned how much he enjoyed reading it for the first time at CBGB. I was like, “Oh, how nice! He appreciated my club, and I was there!” (He really is an excellent reader, and very personable.)

I’d already read a few of these in other collections, but they were good enough that I didn’t mind re-reading them at all.

Leave a Reply

