readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Jacaranda – Cherie Priest ****

Leave a comment

This is categorized as ‘Clockwork Century #6’ – so far, other than this, I’ve only read the first two, so was afraid that ‘skipping ahead’ might be an issue.

However, I needn’t have worried. This story is only tenuously connected to what I’ve read so far, and fully works as a stand-alone. It’s a classic-feeling haunted-hotel story, perfect for fans of The Shining or anything in what Stephen Kings calls the “Ghostly Room at the Inn” subgenre.

As this is a ‘Clockwork Century’ novel, the setting is an alternate 19th century. (But really, the ‘alternate’ part here isn’t significant.)

In response to rumors that an untoward number of guests have been dying at the Jacaranda Hotel, and for some reason this in being ignored by local authorities, two paranormal investigators check in to the hotel to try to set things right.

Padre Rios is a gangster-turned-priest, and he’s been summoned by an Irish nun with hidden strengths. But will their toughness be enough to combat the dark forces swirling beneath the Jacaranda and to save the remaining guests? Or will all be swept into a dark whirlpool of malevolence?

My only complaint is that I felt that some of the supporting characters could’ve been fleshed out a bit more… and we’re left with some mysteries (to be explained in other books?)

But overall, this is an excellent and entertaining horror tale.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s