readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

The Casquette Girls – Alys Arden ***

Leave a comment

The Casquette Girls
The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Guilty pleasure alert!

I have to admit, as I began this book, I found my eyes rolling several times at the silliness of it all… I wasn’t sure it’d be for me. But somehow, as it went on, I found myself continuing to turn the pages… enjoying it more and more. It didn’t get less silly, but I was along for the ride.

Adele Le Moyne is a high school student whose hometown of New Orleans has been devastated by a terrible hurricane. (Is it Katrina? I’m not sure – there’s not mention of “Katrina” at all, and it might be an even-worse storm.) After spending two months in Paris with her rarely-seen mother, Adele is ready to rejoin her father and start rebuilding her home.

The destruction she encounters is shocking. Her school is closed down. The streets are empty. But some of her old friends are around, trying to make the best of a bad situation along with her.

There are the “teenage” things to deal with: soon, Adele is placed in the upper-crust girls’ private school, where her designer duds from France are her only hope of being socially accepted. After school, there’s the annoying guy from the coffee shop who unfortunately (?) starts taking art lessons from her dad. And then there are the two drop-dead handsome Italian brothers – who say they’re in town searching for lost family members. (ooh la la!)

But stranger things are also in the offing. After a bizarre experience at the old convent, Adele seems to be developing a talent for telekinesis. She has to consult with her new friend down at the local voodoo store (who’s also a ‘cool’ girl, AND the mayor’s daughter) about whether she might be a witch… and the descendant of old-time New Orleans witches.

When we hop back in time to learn more about what happened with those old-time witches – back when young, unmarried girls were sent over from Frances with only the ‘caskets’ than supposedly contained their dowries – more light is shed on the supernatural events that Adele has become entangled in, back in the present day.

Good fun… and, (view spoiler)

The quote that really captures it all: “Am I going to die tonight? As a sixteen-year-old virgin with only one passport stamp?”

Many thanks to Amazon and NetGalley for the opportunity to read. As always, my opinions are solely my own

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

