readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

The Tower Broken – Mazarkis Williams ***

Leave a comment

The Tower Broken(Tower and Knife #3)
The Tower Broken by Mazarkis Williams
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My interest in this trilogy kind of fizzled out during its final installment. I spent over 2 weeks reading this – nearly unheard of for me. I just kept putting it down and not picking it up again. Now, it’s been nearly two weeks since I finally finished it – and I’m still not quite sure why it didn’t really do it for me.

I mean, it was OK. I didn’t hate it. (I just LOVED the first two in the series…) And it had all the requisite elements… the world itself is in peril from a magical plague, there are murders, scheming, religious and political conflict, and even a big, blow-out battle of sorcerers. But I just wasn’t feeling the emotional investment that I wanted to, or the tension.

Honestly, it might just’ve been me. I’m not at all sorry I read it; after all, I needed to know how any number of things worked out in the story – and I’d still read anything else from this mysterious author.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

