readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

The Sandman: Overture – Neil Gaiman *****

Leave a comment

The Sandman: Overture
The Sandman: Overture by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

They say you can never recapture the past…
But this book warped me right back into a certain time and place that sure felt like it. There was a magic about discovering The Sandman back in 1989, and Gaiman & crew have still got it.

It’s also *about* time… and place… and going back to deal with what you’ve done in the past, with other versions of who you could have been – what is ‘you’ and what is ‘other’ – about responsibilities, and consequences, and being stubbornly independent to a fault. Awfully apropos, in many ways.

Just about perfect.

A note: I had this as an eBook, and after taking a peek, opted to wait to enjoy it until I could get my hands on a print version. I’m glad that I did. The page layouts aren’t really suited to panel viewing (too complex and non-linear), and there are too many details to really appreciate it on a small tablet. The hardcover ‘deluxe’ edition is recommended!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

