readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff ****

Leave a comment

Nevernight
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If I had read this when I was 15, it would’ve been my new favorite book and a serious life inspiration. However, now that I’m older and more sophisticated… ah, who am I kidding, I still eat this right up with a spoon, cheese on top and all.
I loved the writing style. It has a great balance of beautiful & dramatic with all-out funny. I laughed at the clever similes and I thought the footnotes were hilarious. And hey, the story was pretty damn good, too!
Mia Corvere’s father was a military traitor, condemned and executed by the ruling powers of this Roman/Venetian-influenced world. Now, the young woman’s life is a matter of living and breathing her desire for revenge. In pursuit of this goal, she has trained for years to become a deadly assassin. Now, she’s at the point where she must go on a quest to seek admission to a special school for assassins… a particularly dangerous school, where a good chunk of the students end up dead rather than graduated.

There a are definitely areas where criticism of the book is valid. Mia’s ‘dark’ powers and her familiar shadow-‘cat’ are great, but the whole idea that she’s (view spoiler) However, quibbles aside, this was an enormously enjoyable story, and I’d love to read more from this author.

Many thanks to St. Martin’s & NetGalley for the opportunity to read. A always, my opinions are solely my own.
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

