readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

In the Valley, Where Belladonna Grows – Tim Lebbon ***

Leave a comment

In the Valley, Where Belladonna Grows
In the Valley, Where Belladonna Grows by Tim Lebbon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve only read a few of Tim Lebbon’s writings, but this is my favorite by him so far.

For years, a woman has dwelt alone in a valley, a self-sufficient homesteader. Originally, her situation was exile. She was cast off, banished by her lover, who, we gather, was a man of power in a post-apocalyptic city. But eventually, she has come to realize that on her own, she has more freedom than she ever did with him and his abuses.

However, now, visitors have begun to arrive to disturb her solitude. And now, everything may change.

I loved everything about this story up until the “twist” ending, which brought my overall opinion down a bit.. for me, it just didn’t quite fit.

Many thanks to Endeavour Press and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this short. As always, my opinions are solely my own.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

