readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Unquiet Land – Sharon Shinn (Elemental Blessings #4) ****

Leave a comment

Unquiet Land
Unquiet Land by Sharon Shinn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the fourth in the ‘Elemental Blessings’ series; a fact I didn’t realize when I picked up the book. I’ve read more than a dozen of Shinn’s other books – but not the three that come before this one. I highly, highly recommend NOT starting here. Nevertheless, I’m giving this 4 stars based on how much I think I would’ve enjoyed it if I had read the prequels – and I did really enjoy it.

I believe this series would appeal greatly to fans of Robin Hobb. The writing has the same quality- it manages to be gripping and deeply interesting, even when the matters at hand are perhaps not the most momentous. I’d describe it as ‘domestic fantasy.’

Our main character is Leah, a young woman who has just returned to her hometown after years abroad, working as a spy. But she’s not done working for the Regent – he has a new job for her at home: setting her up as a shopkeeper selling imported goods which hopefully will appeal to foreign dignitaries and other visitors to the city; giving Leah the change to, of course, keep spying on them. But Leah’s first priority is not spycraft – it’s the chance to re-connect with the daughter she gave up for fostering as an infant, feeling herself unready to become a mother. Will the girl be willing to get to know her?
Complicating matters is the sudden presence of the father of her daughter – and her not-wholly-explored feelings toward the colleague she left behind in another country.

There is a political plot here, complete with villainous deeds and nefarious characters – but it takes a back seat to the quotidian details of trying to get to know a child, of the inventory of a retail boutique, to the details of how to care for a rather strange pet fish. It’s not a rushing-through-it to find out what happens books; it’s a book that invites you to immerse yourself in its world. And – I loved doing so. Even if Leah was a bit too goody-goody for words, and if I couldn’t really buy the portrayal of every single person from an entire country as morally corrupt. Even if I really have no interest in the difficulties involved in balancing complicated family relationships; and I think that being constantly surrounded by a noisy crowd of people in a busy house is simply dreadful. (Leah has to learn that she doesn’t really like living alone, even if she thought she did.)

Still loved it; would be happy to revisit this world any time.

Many thanks to Ace and NetGalley for the opportunity to read. As always, my opinion is solely my own.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

