readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Review: A Crown of Wishes

Leave a comment

A Crown of Wishes
A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

DNF at 35%.

I really enjoyed “The Star-Touched Queen” but this one just isn’t grabbing me. The characters of Gauri and Vikram aren’t gelling, and I’m uninterested in their obviously-impending romance.

It isn’t the author’s fault, but the plot is extremely similar to Stephanie Garber’s ‘Caraval,’ which I read recently and also wasn’t enthralled by: two attractive young people must gain entry to a magical ‘game’ in order to win a wish; the girl’s main goal being to save another young woman, although she might be distracted by the attractiveness of the young man…

Maybe it’s my mood, but I have lots of other books to read!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

