readingtrance

book reviews by Althea

Review: Vigil

Leave a comment

Vigil
Vigil by Angela Slatter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have read a great deal of Angela Slatter’s short fiction, and enjoyed it greatly. And by “greatly” I mean, 5-stars, up-to-the-top-of-my-favorite-authors-list, “greatly.” When I heard she had a full-length novel coming out, I was shivering with antici… pation. Got the book through ILL since it isn’t available in the US.

Soooo… I was disappointed. I really didn’t want to be, but I was. “Vigil” is a perfectly competent, supremely marketable, and firmly in-genre entry into the paranormal investigation/urban fantasy oeuvre. It’s a fun little adventure, featuring the requisite feisty heroine. It’s a nice couple of evening’s entertainment, but it doesn’t really stand out from other stories in this niche in any memorable way.

If you’re a fan of Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Carrie Vaughn, Kelley Armstrong, &c, you will undoubtedly be delighted to discover Verity Fassbinder, her mixed human/supernatural heritage, her “it’s complicated” love life, and to join her on her attempts to unravel murders and plots involving humans and the Weyrd in modern-day Brisbane.

I didn’t mind it, but I prefer Slatter’s challenging and disturbing yet beautiful and timeless short fiction.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

